FRANZ XAVER RAMBACH – Quartet F-major, La chasse de Suède, 1785




FRANZ XAVER RAMBACH (1712? – 1799)

Quartetto ex Fa, La chasse de Suède, 1785

For two violins, viola and basso (violoncello) or fagotto.

64 pages (incl. Introduction, fullscore and critical apparatus), staple binding.

This edition presents a fullscore edition of two slighly different sets of autograph instrumental parts, surviving in Swedish libaries. The work can be performed by string quartets or string ensembles.

An extensive introduction sheds for the first time some light on this so far almost unknown composer. He was born in Regensburg, Germany, but was working for some years in Sweden, where he composed this fascinating work, reminiscent of contemporary string quartets by Mozart or Haydn. The sombre tone of the music may be due to ther fact that he composed it while being seriously ill (composé en maladie), as he repeatedly states in his manuscript. The surtitle of the work ‘The Swedish hunt’ refers to the third movement, a lively rondo based on horn signals.

Instrumental parts are available on request!

Article number: GT II